This is going to be a short post so that I can play around with the nuts and bolts of WordPress, the blog host service I’m using.  If I only wanted to blather on in the posts it wouldn’t be a problem, I’d just type and hit publish. But pictures are more fun, I think. As is typical with me though, things seem to be going swimingly and then disaster strikes and suddenly adding

This is a blind man who sits at the top of our subway stairs playing beautiful music on a traditional two stringed chinese instrument.

pictures into some text is like wrestling snakes, and pictures are popping up where I don’t want them, and I can’t add text anymore where I do want it, and things refuse to move, and you see pictures that are way too big for your screen and take 20 minutes to load…and then I have hot flashes.

So I did some reading up and I found out I was using the wrong browser for one thing.  Interestingly, a lot of applications do

The current flowers outside our elevators

not work in Google Chrome but must be run in Safari or Firefox.  WordPress prefers Firefox.

I have also had to learn how to use iPhoto, which is not particularly intuitive and actually required that I read some of the directions.  Bummer.

Ok, so far so good. I’ve inserted pictures where I want them without a single new gray hair being added to my head-of course who’s counting? You all will have to let me know if they’re the appropriate size and don’t take 24 hours to load, ok?  I have lots of pictures to show from this weekend, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow as I have to go to bed.  Meredith and I have orientation tomorrow.

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

