Adventures in Moving

Saturday morning 9:20: Doorbell rings.  I’ve just stepped out of the shower, Mark’s about to get up, so Meredith has to answer the door.  It’s the movers! Who are supposed to arrive at 10! Saying we’re going to need to reserve a special elevator! Which we haven’t! But I have no clothes on!

Deep breathes. Call customer service. Elevator available. No problem.

10 minutes later doorbell rings again. It’s the movers and all our stuff is in the hall, 30 minutes early.  We tell them to wait until 10.  Such eager beavers!

We know as soon as they cross our threshold, it will be a mad dash to the finish line and we have to be prepared–and caffeinated.

At 9:55 they enter and for the next 90 minutes or so, we try to keep up with the whirling dervishes that have entered our apartment.

There are moments of great tension: The unveiling of the sleeper sofa. We ordered this off the internet late one night and have no better image of it than the fuzzy 2 x 2 picture from computer screen.  We picked it because it was supposed to have the best sleeping mattress available, it could be delivered in a week and it was brown–ish.

All our stuff waiting in the hallway ready to be whisked into our apartment

The sofa beginning its slow striptease

 

 

 

 

 

Three layers down and we still can't see it. Time to get a herniated disk getting it in the door. So, this sofa was meant to be used in the office/guest room as a spare bed. One of the things we are discovering is that even in the big plush apartment we are living in, many of our big American possessions don't fit the Chinese lifestyle. So, our dishes and glasses only barely make it into the dishwasher with careful arranging (it's actually German), the smallest cookie sheets I could find in America still won't fit in the oven (also German), the cutlery organizers are too big for the drawers, only 3 to 4 pairs of jeans will go in the washer, and our sofa won't fit through the door of the guest room!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Certain people's feet don't touch the floor while sitting in this couch. They fit in well in in this country.

Guess who’s guests are going to be sleeping in the living room?

The kitchen before the boxes were unceremoniously emptied

The kitchen after. Not all these items actually live in the kitchen.

Mark and Meredith's stash from home-granola bars and cereal that doesn't cost $10 a box

My beloved spices. First meal post shipment: See? I really can cook. I just don't happen to be that clever with salt and pepper...

I think only one item was damaged-some plastic drawers that I keep files in. I also seem to have lost some special measuring spoons in the air shipment and for the life of me I think there were some things I bought, like a hamper for Meredith’s room that just haven’t materialized and that are really leaving me scratching my head.  But the reality is everything came through in pristine shape which is pretty amazing.

Last night I finally got my own VPN (virtual private network) which is required when you live here if you want to use Facebook or Youtube or use gmail without tearing your hair out (it tends to come and go-sometimes mostly go).  However today the school wiped Meredith’s computer so now she doesn’t have one.  We are hoping that they were able to back it up so it will be a relatively simple matter to restore it, because let me tell you, getting a new one took into the wee hours last night, which is why there was no post yesterday!

First day of school for Meredith tomorrow! I’ll tell you about her school in another post.

 

 

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

