Another fantastical journey through the grocery store

I suppose that eventually going to the grocery store is going to become old hat, (and this blog will become a yawn)… but right now it’s just one weird thing after another!

These are dried "somethings". The grey ones are definitely fish, no clue on the others.

Unicorns do exist and they're here in China!

Some of the 30+ kinds of tofu you can get. And you thought your choices were silken or firm.

I first noticed this fish tank because a fish jumped about a foot and a half out of the water as I was coming around the corner!

Just like at an aquarium, but you get to eat them.

"Pick me, pick me!" "No, pick me!"

Are they dirt balls on sticks?

No! They're eyeballs on sticks!

Actually they’re Lychee nuts. Can’t say they’re my favorite.  I prefer the mango at the bottom. This is a new shape and variety I haven’t seen before.

Dragon fruit. Scary name, awesome looking outside, pretty cool looking insides, rather, bland disappointing taste for all the hoopla on the outside.

Two varieties of creepy looking tubers. The ones on the right were purple skinned and orange fleshed when I bought them but have dried to look like regular potatoes.

Thanks to Ben for translating the Chinese everyone was taking their picture in front of last weekend:  Nanjing Pedestrian Street Station.

Hmm.  Clearly it means something to them that we don’t know about.  We’ll have to ask around.

In other news:

It's a small world after all--look what we found at the Tommy Hilfiger store next door at Plaza 66!

Last night I started Chinese classes.  I liked my teacher.  He was a pleasant and engaging guy, unlike the woman I had had with my trial lesson who was rather stern and didn’t care if I caught on or not!

This morning marks the beginning of what everyone here calls the start of the “social season” with the membership drive for the American Women’s Association today and the Shanghai Expatriates Association tomorrow. The term social season makes me feel like I’m in the 50’s but I suppose they have to call it something. Guess I better get this posted and go put on my white gloves and hat!

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another fantastical journey through the grocery store

  1. Jean says:

    Hey Marisa, I’ve finally caught up and it’s fabulous. My notebooks (no blogs back then!) of our first impressions of America lasted for about 2 years before I gave up – so heres to many more months of blogging!

Leave a Reply

