Is it a Hospital or a Hotel?

Well, yes, the lobby does look like a hotel and it’s amazingly devoid of people at 8pm, but the rooms still look like a hospital.

My room, which was private up until a few minutes ago.

The views however are fabulous

The address of the hospital is "The Peak", for obvious reasons.

It was a wild ride up here on steep, steep, narrow windy roads.

This morning, I was up with the birds that fly past my window, having a nerve block put into my neck at 6am. This was done so that after the manipulation was done, I will be able to tolerate the physical therapy.  The doctor pointed out that I could have the manipulation done without anesthesia because of the block, but “some patients find the noise that’s made during the manipulation disgusting.” Ok, let’s go with that anesthesia.

My new roommate is sighing and moaning an awful lot.

Anyway, the nerve block is a procedure that requires a sterile field and having your head turned at an awkward angle and lying perfectly still for about 15 minutes.

And what always happens when you’re forced to lay perfectly still? Some little something  really starts to bug you.

Me? a single hair had escaped from my shower cap and landed on my nose. Inside the sterile field. drat. tickle. tickle. think about something else…. back of my neck’s starting to hurt. tickle, tickle…. boy, that insertion thing he’s doing kind of hurts. tickle. tickle. Wait, I could blow on it. ahh, relief, I think my neck’s going to spasm though…maybe if I moved just a tiny bit. nope he noticed. Hurry up already!

The manipulation went fine and I’ve had my first physical therapy. The therapist says the joint is soft and released, but I’m still having a lot of pain rotating my arm out to the side. So I’ve been given an additional nerve block.

This nerve block is a very weird experience. Think the biggest novacaine shot you’ve ever had at the dentist, except it’s in your entire arm down to your hands. If my arm had the ability to drool, there would be a flood around my bed.

When they say dead bodies are a “dead weight”, I now understand. I wonder if I would actually weigh more if I stepped on a scale?

And when it itches, scratching doesn’t relieve the itch.

If I’m not looking directly at my left hand and I have to grab hold of it during my exercises or to wash my hands, I can’t find it.

My arm flopping around on the end of my shoulder like a dead fish has made for a certain amount of levity around here.

I have a much greater appreciation for all those people who have become paralyzed or had a stroke. Thankfully mine will wear off.

It seems my roommate has a herniated disc causing severe sciatica. They’re fixing her in the morning, the poor woman. I have a feeling she’s not going to be sleeping a lot tonight.

Second round of physical therapy went better with the better nerve block, although now my arm feels like it ran a marathon! The block’s probably starting to wear off.

So, it will be more of the same the rest of the week. I probably check out of the hospital tomorrow or Wednesday and then go to a hotel. I’ll also see another opthamologist on Wednesday.

I’ve been typing this with one hand, which is kind of slow. Not up to my 130 words per minute in high school, I’m afraid!

The knitting I brought along–what was I thinking?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it a Hospital or a Hotel?

  1. Tracy says:

    Marisa…I had no idea you were going thru all this!! What started all this nerve issue? I just tell you, have been going thru similar issues, two bulging discs in my neck, one slipped disc and a pinched nerve in my hip! yikes! email me so we can chat more in private 🙂 Love-Tracy

  2. Hi Marisa – glad to see your spirits are so high…could that be the nerve block?
    Once again you made me cringe and then laugh out loud within seconds.
    My thoughts are with you; best wishes for a speedy recovery.
    Kelly

  3. Lois says:

    Hope you feel better soon.

  4. Heidi Gerth says:

    Hi Marisa, Glad to her you are on the move! Sounds like things are going as well as possible. How is the communication between the staff there and you? Your writing skill are still well intact. How are you typing you blog-is your hand cooperating yet?
    Prayers and hugs,
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

