The 24/7 Physical Therapy Channel

Yes, it’s really exciting here at Chez Newhouse. At any moment you can find either Mark or me doing our physical therapy exercises. It’s so much fun here Meredith can hardly wait to come home from school.

Mark put his back out last week while I was gone so he’s been suffering from muscle spasms so bad that he’s become like the man in the nursery rhyme, “There was a crooked man, who walked a crooked mile.” Yesterday he finally got some muscle relaxants which seem to be working–he’s no longer listing to the side like the cruise ship Costa Concordia.

Maybe what draws couples together as they age is caring for each other through all their illnesses and ailments.

I feel like my shoulder has reached status quo, but my physical therapist assures me that it was moving smoother on Wednesday than it was on Monday. Could be, but it still hurt the same!

Chinese New Year is this coming Monday, the 23rd. Pretty much everything shuts down for about a week here in Shanghai, (much to the irritation of the people in Hong Kong where that is not the case) so we’re taking the opportunity to come back to the States! We leave Friday morning with most of the rest of the population of Shanghai, so we intend to leave somewhat earlier than usual. It’s still a quite early flight so we should be ok and we’re taking a plane, not a bus or train. The plight of the migrant workers who work in the cities and go back to the countryside once a year at the New Year is really quite heartbreaking. They stand in line, literally for days on end trying to get train tickets which sell out in minutes. It’s the only time of the year they have off to go back home, often the only time they see their children, and it’s just not possible for the transportation system to handle what is literally the biggest migration of people in the world at one point in time.

I do have quite a few pictures to show you still from Hong Kong, but several irritating computer issues made it too unpleasant to tackle that this week, so I’ll just go with a short post and a picture of one the New Year’s displays down the street and Kelly’s mail envelopes.

The New Year's display at Plaza 66 is quite an improvement over their scary Christmas tree

Actually, until they put the cartoon Chinese children in the display it was really, really lovely. I think the tree is meant to be of cherry blossoms which seem to be used in decorations everywhere. It’s interesting because in Hong Kong the New Year’s decoration of choice was giant mandarin orange topiaries.

The two topiaries outside my hotel were typical of what I saw all over Hong Kong. The oranges are tiny and hard to see. There are red envelopes hanging on the trees.

A beautiful get-well mail envelope

When the birthday card is an envelope it's really big!

Thanks to everyone for all the well wishes while I was in the hospital and the birthday wishes too. It meant a lot to hear from all my friends and family! I’ll see you all soon! I’ll be in Corning Tuesday evening through Saturday morning.

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

