Bali Ha’i

Now that you all have that song stuck in your head, but you can’t think of the words to save yourself, here they are:

Bloody Mary:
Most people live on a lonely island,
Lost in the middle of a foggy sea.
Most people long for another island,
One where they know they will like to be.

Bali Ha’i may call you,
Any night, any day,
In your heart, you’ll hear it call you:
“Come away…Come away.”

Bali Ha’i will whisper
On the wind of the sea:
“Here am I, your special island!
Come to me, come to me!”

Your own special hopes,
Your own special dreams,
Bloom on the hillside
And shine in the streams.
If you try, you’ll find me
Where the sky meets the sea.
“Here am I your special island
Come to me, Come to me.”

Bali Ha’i,
Bali Ha’i,
Bali Ha’i!

Someday you’ll see me floatin’ in the sunshine,
My head stickin’ out from a low flyin’ cloud,
You’ll hear me call you,
Singin’ through the sunshine,
Sweet and clear as can be:
“Come to me, here am I, come to me.”
If you try, you’ll find me
Where the sky meets the sea.
“Here am I your special island
Come to me, Come to me.”

Bali Ha’i,
Bali Ha’i,
Bali Ha’i!

Bali is a special island, indeed. It’s really a shame it’s 12 hours off in time zone from the East coast or I’d tell you all to hop on a plane right now. It’s just so bright and colorful, I’m still feeling rather dazzled. Don’t get me wrong, there’s a lot of ugliness in Bali, but unlike some places you see around the world where it’s ugly, ugly, ugly; in Bali it’s ugly, ugly, gorgeous, ugly, ugly, gorgeous. With the weather being so tropical, the buildings don’t need to be sturdy, so many are constructed out of corrugated metal and sometimes grass roofs with open fronts or concrete blocks, or bamboo poles and whatever they’ve got that constitutes a wall. Not real attractive. But  then there will be a beautiful temple structure or a gate abutting the corrugated metal. Or there will be fabulous artwork or vibrant textiles hanging inside the buildings.

The pictures are now in a gallery. Click on the first little picture and it will appear bigger in the middle of the screen. Then just click on the arrows on the right or left side of the screen to scroll through the photos.

The following slide show is of the ride from our hotel near the airport to the resort in Ubud about an hour away. The pictures were taken through the window of the car, often at 40-50 miles an hour so they aren’t all perfect, but they aren’t that bad either–I have such an amazing camera!

Next post, things get really colorful.

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bali Ha’i

  1. Debbie says:

    Another vicarious trip that I’ve enjoyed. Thank you. Very nicely done, you truly have a gift for this

Leave a Reply

