Interesting Country, Difficult Issues

Perhaps you’ve all noticed a lack of posts lately? It seems that the power’s that be here may, once again, be messing around with our vpn (what allows us to use Facebook, Youtube, and read and write blogs). Suddenly WordPress is just going at a snail’s pace, especially where photo’s are concerned. We’re having trouble getting connected to the vpn too. So, I have not been able to upload all of the great photos I have of the things I’ve done recently, which is annoying me to no end! I’ve been trying for days! Or maybe I have too many photos 🙂 We are diligently searching for a new carrier.

The amusing thing about all this–if there is something amusing about having your “business” censored–is that the company where Meredith is doing her internship for school the next two weeks uses a vpn! This is a Chinese company using a vpn to get around the Great Firewall of China. And it’s apparently a much better one than ours.

Meredith’s first day of work!

Ha! I got one picture loaded!

This is a media company that can’t do their work without a vpn. And of course, all the blog posts I read, like the one the other night about how to wash Tom’s shoes, are really subversive.

Come on guys, this is just silly. Give it up already.

Elevator flowers–We got a two-fer!

Back with pictures soon, I hope!

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

