The Pity of It All, Part 3

Continuing our story….

We’ve just turned around the corner from Family Qiao’s street and we’re going to tour the neighborhood a bit until we reach our next destination. This has taken so long, even I don’t know where we’re going to end up!

Someone’s front garden

New construction going up over old

Tea anyone?

Hmm…I wonder if someone’s going to remember where they left their shoes when Mom’s yelling at them to hurry up?

I love house tours, even if I have to be sneaky about them.

The next home on our tour….

And finally…

Mops

You don’t often see bars on windows here. Perhaps it’s to keep the child I suspect occupies this room from crawling out, rather than burglars from getting in.

Chickens! Free Range!

Sewing in the light of the doorway. She probably does sewing for a living based on the sophistication of her set-up.

I think my oral hygiene would go downhill if this was where I had to brush my teeth. Cold and raining outside? How about some gum?

Life in Shanghai. Always watch out for the scooters coming up behind you on the sidewalks and alleyways.

This is the area where the first electric lights were put in in Shanghai. It’s called the Street of Heavenly Lights because people thought the lights came from Heaven to guide people safely home. I rather like that, don’t you?

Street of Heavenly Lights. These lucky people got electric lights first because they were the most well-off in Shanghai at the time.

In the next (final!) post in this series, we will finally come to the main event of this walk; what was once the largest garden in Shanghai, still occupied by the last lone member of the family.

But first:

Pretty mail envelope: May basket

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

