Bang, Bang, Bang

 

It’s Chinese New Year’s Eve and it sounds like thunderstorms and great battles are roaring through, one after the other. All evening I’ve been resisting each new onslaught of noise, because, Hey, they’re just fireworks, right? But then I get pulled in by the ferociousness of the noise and I think, Wow, this must be a really great display, I better go see it! And I run over to the window and just as I get there they stop. (Or they’re behind a building.) A minute ago, though, there were some that I could see right from my chair, so I got a break. The Chinese do love their fireworks!

Not the best picture of fireworks, but I always think it's pretty when they light up the building across the street

Not the best picture of fireworks, but I always think it’s pretty when they light up the building across the street

So I thought it would be fun to look at some of the Chinese New Year decorations I’ve come across in the past couple of weeks–just like looking at Christmas decorations.

Perhaps you remember this pink and purple Christmas extravaganza at one of the malls down the street

Perhaps you remember this pink and purple Christmas extravaganza at one of the malls down the street

This is it's Chinese New Year incarnation. Looks like CNY beats out Christmas for using red.

Presto chango–it’s now a CNY display!

Further down the street is this display.

Further down the street is this display.

Big Dragon!

Big Dragon! Two men were guarding it 🙂

Display somewhere-can't remember

Display at another mall

IMG_1173This was right in front of a door, where I go for physical therapy, so all the red things hanging down were blowing in the breeze. Must have been cold because I shook the camera!

At the IFC Mall

At the IFC Mall

The baby was very excited about this display

The baby was very excited about this display

I see this at the Ritz as I'm going up to the gym. Sometimes there is a pretty woman in a red qipao who's standing with it, helping with the elevators.

I see this at the Ritz as I’m going up to the gym. Sometimes there is a pretty woman in a red qipao who’s standing with it, helping with the elevators.

Entrance to another mall

Entrance to SuperBrand Mall
Display between IFC and Superbrand Malls from the elevated walkway. It's all made out of plants!

Display between IFC and Superbrand Malls from the elevated walkway. It’s all made out of plants!

Another view

View from the other direction.

The flower display in the big roundabout between the two malls.

The flower display in the big roundabout between the two malls.

Now you get to see my favorite display this year.

Wait, not quite yet actually–something else first.

Even over here I’ve heard about nothing but snow, snow, snow the last couple of days. Well, I’ll have you know that we’ve had snow here!

Yes, you can hardly see it, but it was still snow! That white blob is a little white dog who is endlessly excited whenever's he's in this grassy area.

Yes, you can hardly see it, but it was still snow! That white blob is a little white dog who is brimming with excitement whenever’s he’s in this grassy area–which is usually at the same time I open my curtains every morning. It seems fitting to see such enthusiasm for life, first thing in the morning.

Admittedly, Thursday night's snow was pretty paltry. But! On Friday it snowed again and the sidewalks were actually slippery and slushy.

Admittedly, Thursday night’s snow was pretty paltry. But! On Friday it snowed again and the sidewalks were actually slippery and slushy.

The planters looked pretty in the snow.

The planters looked pretty in the snow.

The dragon looked cold with his snow coat.

The dragon looked cold with his snow coat.

Ok, now you get to see my favorite thing:

And now we come to my favorite New Year's Display--the Bulgari "diamond" snake for 2013 Year of the Snake. It's outside Plaza 66 and it's fabulous.

The Bulgari “diamond” snake for 2013 Year of the Snake. It’s outside Plaza 66 and it’s fabulous.

You can actually buy one of these diamond snakes (as well as an arm band like Cleopatra's). It was advertised on Shanghai Centre's marquis.

You can actually buy one of these diamond snakes (as well as an arm band like Cleopatra’s). It was advertised on Shanghai Centre’s marquis.

It's made up of thousands of twinkling lights.

It’s made up of thousands of twinkling lights.

Unfortunately I was not able to capture the lights in the eyes which were truly transfixing.

Unfortunately I was not able to capture the lights in the eyes which were truly transfixing.

Walking back from Plaza 66, the snake glowed in the dark next to the red lights.

Walking back from Plaza 66, the snake glowed in the dark next to the red lights on the lamp post.

This group of stars hanging from the trees was especially pretty. The pink one changed from red to gold to green.

This group of stars hanging from the trees was especially pretty. The pink one changed from red to gold to green.

The Shanghai Mandarin made a canopy of red lights.

The JC Mandarin hotel has a canopy of red lights.

The streets seemed nearly abandoned today because so many people leave Shanghai during CNY. Although, there clearly must be a few people left–I don’t think fireworks set themselves off.

I haven’t been too vigilant about trying to see them actually, because Monday we are going to Hong Kong. They have a very big display of fireworks over the Harbor and our hotel is going to be looking over the Harbor. Yeah! On Thursday we will be in Taipei and plan to see Ben and Andy’s host parents and then we come back on Friday. A short trip, but hopefully we’ll be in some warmer weather–that’s why we didn’t go to Seoul!

I’ll have to see if I’m tired enough to sleep through all the noise. Mark just came back from the States–I would imagine that he will have less success as it’s going to seem like daytime for him in addition to the noise.

Last picture–the first CNY display by the elevators (another one yet to come in another post):

Elevator Flowers CNY 2013

Elevator Flowers CNY 2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About DECRYPTKNIT: knitter on the loose in Shanghai

Hi, I'm Marisa Newhouse, a former pharmacist (for a brief time during the Reagan administration) who's real calling was probably anything that has to do with cooking, plants, literature and especially knitting; hence my last and favorite job, working at Woolyminded, a wonderful yarn store. But now, I have moved half a world away to Shanghai where my husband will be working. Lots of people are interested in what we will be doing here and I have always kept journals of our travels, so I thought I'd do it the modern way and keep a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bang, Bang, Bang

  1. Kelly says:

    Favorite elevator flowers ever!!! Loved this post – thank you for bringing Chinese New Year to us.

  2. Tracy Newhouse-Carrow says:

    ohhh…that snake diamond necklace would make a great gift…just sayin’ 🙂

  3. Deb says:

    The Chinese do love their colors! I loved the purple & white done with the plants….but then again, I’m partial to plants! Thanks for sharing your pictures! I do love to see where and what you have been doing.

Leave a Reply

